The most powerful Formula 1 bolids

The most powerful Formula 1 bolids

ALFA ROMEO Tipo 158/159 Alfetta

The winning years of championship: 1950-1951.

Power: 317kW at 9300rpm.

Specifications: Supercharged 1.5-litre straight eight cylinder..

4 – speed manual transmission

fangio.gifFamous drivers: Giuseppe Farina, Emilio Villoresi, Alberto Ascari, Jean-Pierre Wimille Juan Manuel Fangio.

When the modern world championship began in 1950, this Alfa Romeo had been around grand prix racing and in a blaze of glory.

The first two modern titles of the tipo158/159 were in the hands of Alberto Ascari in 1950 an d after him Juan Manuel Fangio in 1951.

The end of these great Alfettas was when Ferrari started to catch up.

The Alfa models won 47 grand’s prix from 54 races.

To cope with the increased power and heavier fuel consumption, extra fuel tanks were fitted. Alfa was consuming four liters every 1.5 miles.



The winning years of championship: 1954, 1957.

Power: 191kW at 8000rpm (six), 234kW at 8000rpm (V12),

Specifications: 2.5-litre straight six.

4-speed manual/5-speed manual transmission.

Famous drivers: Stirling Moss, Juan Manuel Fangio, , Roy Salvadori, Peter Collins, Alberto Ascari, , Mike Hawthorn, Jo Bonnier, Louis Chiron, , Jack Brabham.


This Maserati 250F was one of the most competitive and the prettiest grand prix machines in history. the name 250F referred to its 2.5-litre capacity expansion for use in F1.

1954 championship was won by Juan Manuel Fangio with points gained from the 250F.

The 250F models won 8 F1 races of 46.



The winning years of championship: 1954, 1955.

Power: 191kW at 7500pm/ 216kW at 8500rpm.

Specifications: 2.5-litre straight eight cylinder.

Famous drivers: Juan Manuel Fangio, Karl Kling , Sir Stirling Moss, Hans Hermann.

Mercedes-Benz W196 was recognized as the finest racing machines to put up with the three-pointed star symbol.

1954 – Argentinian ace Juan Manuel Fangio won the championship and the title of the following year with Mercedes-Benz W196, winning 9 out of 12 races.

Evolved from producing 191kW to 216kW of power, Mercedes Benz was set for domination in the world championship.


The winning years of championship: 1963.

Power: 149kW at 8200rpm.

Specifications: 90-degree Coventry-Climax 1.5-litre.

ZF 5DS 10 5-speed manual transmission

Famous drivers: Jim Clark.

This revolutionary and the first grand prix car with a monocoque chassis was driven by Jim Clark.

The total weight of the car at 451kg which is almost 150kg lighter than regular F1 cars.


The new engine and the lower-mounted exhaust pipes were the most notable modifications in 1963. Jim Clark and the Lotus 25 were unbeatable. 1962 Clark won 8 from 10 races in Monaco which was a record of seven races in a season.



The winning years of championship: 1983.

Power: 670kW at 11,000rpm.

Specifications: 1.5-litre turbocharged four cylinder.

Famous drivers: Riccardo Patrese and Nelson Piquet.

In this year horsepower grew to quite surprising levels

This was a turbo era and one hell of a wild time of which some drivers today become weak-kneed at the mention of this time.


Gordon Murray designed this rocket ship which today is recognizes as the most powerful F1 car ever built.

Beside the other turbos such as Renault and TAG-Porshe this little BMW became the champion of the force-fed generation.

The car produced 900bhp (670kW) in qualifying.


Comments are closed.